Multitasking in the Classroom

June 2, 2012

I’m not gonna lie. I’m guilty of multitasking. I do it almost everyday which is not good. I multitask mostly when I’m doing homework by looking at youtube or facebook. I know it’s a horrible habit, but what can I do? Habits are hard to break. I can at least try. The more I think about the negative effects it had on me, the more I understand that it made not want to pay attention in class or sometimes I go off into la-la land. Sometimes I don’t do well on the homework as I should. I get passing grades, but not the kind I want sometimes. I need to figure how to pay more attention in class and do better on my homework. Anyway, I never realized how bad it was. I found out that multitasking has negative effects on students by them not doing well in school (failing tests/homework for example) or getting distracted easily. I didn’t even think that it would also have negative effects on their social skills. When kids spend so much time on the computer, they might develop social problems. I don’t want my students to be like that. Whenever I thought about how I wanted to decorate my classroom, I wanted posters with bright colors and neat stuff on it, but I may need to think about it a little more. I want to get posters that aren’t going to distract the students from their lessons. Something educational, yet inspirational. I would have a quiz for my students at least every two weeks to see how well they’re doing in class, and if things don’t go well I might have a teacher conference with their parents to discuss the importance limiting the kids’ time on the computer. Of course, they may not appreciate it. It’s worth a shot though. I honestly don’t know if there is a way to use student multitasking tendencies for educational purposes, but it would be worth finding out by actually paying attention to our students and asking them questions finding out what they like. When we find out what they like, we can use it as an advantage for educational purposes. Let’s hope that things do get worse with all this multitasking business.

Leave a Reply

